Love

I Joined Tinder!

Yes, I did it! And it’s not because I’m single and ready to mingle. I mean, I am. I say that all the time but I also manage to ignore my crushes when I see them just to give the impression that I don’t give two fucks about them when I’m checking their social media all day to see where they’re at. It’s just that butterflies get too crazy, ok!.

(Note to my secret crush who’s not that secret: I do really like you. You just make me nervous. Please marry me!!)

Back to the reason you’re here: me joining Tinder! I bet you’re impatiently reading, almost skipping some lines to get to the part where I’m telling you all the juicy stories of me hooking up with all the guys I’ve met online. Well, I’m afraid I’ll have to disappoint you. Because me joining Tinder had nothing to do with my  idea of meeting The one: spontaneously, the wrong time and place but we just click and nothing else matters *angels start singing and cupid throws his arrows everywhere as a celebration* . I wasn’t even hoping on meeting someone to have a fall fling with. Someone who can get me through those gloomy days. I joined Tinder in the hopes of changing the way I think about online dating.

Many find it the perfect way to meet new people. But I’m just too much of a perfectionist, idealist or awkward to hit someone up, based on their pictures. It’s not about “the true beauty is the inner beauty” kind of thing. I mean, when did you realize that you like your crush? I bet most of the times it’s because you’ve seen them talking, smiling, laughing and walking. Whatever that made you fall for them was probably because you’ve seen them doing it. You don’t just fall for a picture that was probably taken from the right angle or even photoshopped.

Long before talking to my babe (aka the guy I have a crush on), I’d known of his existence. I’ve seen his picture and even stalked him on Facebook when Facebook told me that I might know him. But it’s only when he talked to me, smiled at me and acted a bit awkward (in the most cute way), that I only realized how much I liked him. That’s pretty much how I (almost) always realize that I like someone. I guess, I’m too much of a chicken to talk to someone and go on a date with without knowing what he’s like in real life.

In short, I haven’t met someone who awakened my curiosity. I mean, I’ve the handsome and the ugly. The short and the long. The old and the young. The westerner and the easterner. But even after hours spent in the bus, scrolling through picture of guys I didn’t really feel the click with anyone of them.

So I guess tinder is just not for me. But for now I’m quite satisfied with my one and only match!

bca765424c7aa5dacd5a81469b49efcf

Ps. If you’re wondering about what I’m going to do to let my crush know how much I like him. Well, I’m going to do what I always do; say nothing and wait for a miracle…

Leave a comment